diy decorative crate

do any other mamas out there despise plastic bins, drawers full of junk and little plastic baggies everywhere full of toys?

well, I do!

 

I have always struggled with the simple fact that I don’t feel think my home has to be kiddo proofed to the point where my vision of a stylish home is completely out the window. My home is by no means spotless, laundry is sniffed too often after I leave it in the wash too long and I’m sure you could spot some dust if you tried. But hey, no judgement zone here right? Hopefully some of you understand!

I am OCD about little clutter everywhere I will say. I tend to pick up toys 100x a day or start one thing and get sidetracked cleaning up a little mess that catches my attention… Or I just get too overwhelmed and sit my happy butt down. True story. My goal is to cut back the amount of clutter we accumulate from here on out but mainly to be able to decorate our home with items that serve a purpose.

So, I had the supplies to throw together this cute little crate similar to one I’ve seen on Fixer Upper and I thought I might share!

Supplies: 

– 4 pieces of wood (your choice of lengthxwide) I used scrap wood so my ends are slightly higher than the sides but it works!

 IMG_0474.JPG

– Wood Stain if you prefer a different finish, I used MINWAX “Classic Gray” stain. I wiped the knots in the wood very briefly with MINWAX “Ebony” to add a little more detail to those areas.

– 2 Pulls, these two were pulls I’ve had from previous projects. They are less than $2 a piece at Lowes.

– 4 pen holders ($1 a pc. at Dollar Tree)

– 2 packs of corner braces ($2 at Lowes) Picture below, these came in a silver finish so I just spray painted them with Oil Rub Bronzed spray paint that I’ve had.

IMG_0510.JPG

 

Directions: 

[Screw in brackets to each corner of wood, bringing each corner together, measure each about 1″ away from the top so they’re evenly spaced]

[Stain wood if you prefer]

[Seal with Polyutherane after the stain has set]

[Screw in pulls to each end]

BAM! That’s it!

IMG_0511.JPG

It’s the easiest project and can really add a lot of character to a table or area that is usually filled with little clutter… My girls love having all of their coloring supplies right on the table instead of thrown together in a bag/box.

This would also be great for bathrooms, dressers, kitchens, wherever you have little items laying around you’d like to organize!

Thank you for reading! 🙂

IMG_0512.JPG

 

Leave a comment